Pushing Forward.

Though I’m a month (as of tomorrow) out from running my first marathon and still haven’t written a proper recap of the race (it’s in the works…slowly), I am excited to share what has been happening since marathon training season has ended.

I won’t lie—I kind of didn’t know what to do with my life after the marathon was over. Yes that’s a quite dramatic statement, but seriously, when you invest so much time and energy into training and it’s finally DONE—what do you do?!

You move onto new goals. You keep reaching. Keep striving. Challenge yourself.

I had planned to start the Whole 30 just a few days after the marathon to reset my system and get my nutrition back into total check (and not going to lie, to ‘de-fluff’ from training season/carb-loading/birthday celebrations…#reallife). I won’t go into detail about that experience yet, but we are just finishing day 26 of no sugar, no dairy, no grains, no soy, no legumes, no alcohol, and nothing processed (basically a strict version of Paleo where you eat all whole foods for 30 days straight, NO cheating). ANYWAY, it’s been fabulous for us. (And yes I say us because my husband was amazing to undertake this challenge with me.)

So, the nutrition front has been great, but something has still been missing. Training–particularly training for a concrete goal. I miss disciplining myself to follow a training program. I miss continually striving to dig deep, discover my potential and reach beyond what I thought were my limits.

Most people would embrace this “downtime” from training. I sure thought I was going to be one of those people! Okay, I ran my marathon, check that off my bucket list. Now I can relax and just exercise leisurely! But, you see, I’ve been bitten by the running bug. And then there’s been this little dream in the back of my mind, even when I was just in the beginning stages of training for my first marathon…

I want to run an ultramarathon.

ultra

It scares me. It excites me beyond belief. And that is EXACTLY why I am determined to do it.

skylimit walkboldly risk redefine

There’s a 50k trail ultramarathon at the end of March, and Lord willing, I will show up to that race, totally out of my comfort zone, and run my heart out.

Though I only have one marathon under my belt and three half marathons (which equates to a fairly inexperienced runner in this case), training has taught me that as long as you are fully committed, you can do whatever you set your mind to, regardless of your “qualifications.” Philippians 4:13 DOES say “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”

I am excited to find out what the Lord has in store for me through training for something so out of my comfort zone. I pray I can continue glorifying God through my training. Trails are a different beast than roads, which makes me even more nervous especially training through the winter season. I have all of these fears and doubts in my head, but as I fix my eyes on Him, I am reminded that He is my strength always. I will continue to trust in the Lord and praise His name!

2 timothy

Leave a Reply

